Skip to main content

A Day at Disneyland

Disneyland was a lot of fun. E was just so excited to go and both the children were excited over the simplest of things (like the tram from the parking garage to Downtown Disney District - YAY!) We bought our tickets and were pleasantly surprised to find that since J is only 2 1/2 - he was free! YAY! He turns 3 in July, so we just barely caught that deal. We took so many pictures. The first thing we went on was the Carousel, and the Dumbo Flying Elephants and Casey Jr. train. When I was little and went to Disneyland, the things I remember most were the Dumbo flying elephants and It's a Small World, so I wanted to ensure we would get on both of those nice and early!!!

We took poor E on some scary rides that I did not realize were so scary -- like for example, Snow White and Pinnochio -- wow, those were both pretty scary stuff. E just put her hands over her eyes and tried to hide down as much as she could on those ones. She was also terrified on Pirates of the Carribean, and when we went in the haunted mansion we had a group of teen girls with us that just screamed their heads off, so that frightened her pretty bad too. I felt like such a bad mommy, but I love the haunted mansion and just HAD to go. Oh, and even when we went on Buzz Lightyear, she was scared for the first minute. Of course, after the first minute, the ride broke down and we had to wait for a disney cast member to come escort us off the ride. It was okay though because they gave us a fast pass for later, and it gave us ample opportunity to take some pictures which we never would have normally gotten on the ride because we were just sitting there waiting. FAST PASS is really cool. If you are headed to Disneyland soon, and especially if you want to go on the more popular rides that get really crowded, be sure to use fast pass. We went Buzz twice more. The cool thing about that ride is that when you get off of it, down by the store, there are computers where you can email your picture to yourself for free. It's such a cool idea and we did it! Oh, and we bought J a Buzz Lightyear blaster gun and he LOVES it. It is kind of noisy and I cannot believe I actually agreed to getting it since I usually avoid noisy toys, but it was perfect for him and he was so excited.

E's favorite part was meeting some Disney Princesses. I swear we waited like 45 minutes to do that -- perhaps the only wait we had the whole day -- but it was worth it because E was so excited. She got to meet Pocohontas, Aurora, and Snow White and then when we were leaving, Belle was coming in to replace Pocahontas, so E ran and gave her a big hug and we took a picture with her and then she took E back into the princess area to tell Pocohontas she could go. It was cute!!! J and M went on Peter Pan while we did that and got back to meet us just in time! J really enjoyed driving a car. He is really into cars. We all enjoyed Pooh Bear and the Tiki Room. Oooh, and after Pooh Bear, I got our kids some Mickey mouse Lollipops (big ones) and they loved that!!! I found that we went on a lot of things that I have never really been on because we were with the children and I really liked it. It made Disney a whole new experience. Oh, and E absolutely loved the Hula girls on It's a Small World. That is probably my favorite thing in Disneyland, and E really really liked it too! It wasn't scary for her!!!

I really wanted to catch the Main St. parade, so we made sure that we made it back in time to see it. E and I went shopping in the Disney Princess store and she picked out a big headed Aurora doll to take home. Then we went back and found M and he had found a bench to sit and watch the parade, so we sat and relaxed until the parade began. After the parade was done, we went on Buzz once more, and then began to walk down Main St. and look through the shops. We stopped at the Mickey Mouse theater for a few minutes and watched the old Mickey cartoons, and then continued to shop. We picked up a few postcards to add to our photos that we took. Then we left and waited for the tram to the parking garage. J was so tired, M put him on his shoulders. He crashed about 5 minutes after we left the park. E was a little more awake, but very drowsy. We had such a wonderful day and plan to come back like every other year to do it again (or so.) Also, we did not do the California Adventure part at all, so we will come back to do that another time. I think perhaps when the kids are a bit older they will enjoy that.

Comments

Anonymous said…
YAY Disney !!! Wish we were there to enjoy it with you guys !!!

love ya

mommy
Teresa said…
Aww! You look like you had a magical time!!!

Popular posts from this blog

My Decade Later Comeback and Playing Catch Up

Hello friends, It's been awhile and I kind of dropped off the face of the planet since moving to Oregon. I got busy with growing four babies into teens, and attempting to hold together a marriage with a partner who was working out of town for the most part. It was a lot! Truth be told, I have been spending most of my time over on Instagram which allows for more quick picture and caption posts (@the.amanda.sewell), but I really, genuinely miss having a journal of our adventures, so I'm back.  Some changes, my ex-partner moved out in October of 2023 (after 23 years of marriage, who would have thought?) and I am on a new, single mom adventure with the fabulous four. Luckily, they are adjusting to the changes well as we navigate this challenging time as a family team. Things are still in flux and hopefully at the end of all of this, the dust will settle and we will end up landing on our feet. Because of this change, I needed to go back to work and after not working for the past lo...

ALMOST TO 50K

EDITED TO ADD: I go by my first name, not my middle. My first name is Amanda. *smiles* Also, I am going to keep this post bumped up to the top so people can find it, but I will be posting more, so please take a moment to scroll down to find the latest stuff -- this will stay up until 50K is reached. *************************** I am so amazed that so many people have been interested in little old stamping me. Okay, well, not me actually, probably mostly my work, but either way, I'm SUPER FLATTERED! I appreciate all the comments you leave me. They really do validate me and make me feel like I should keep on going with this blog. You all ROCK! So, I have decided to do a small giveaway to show my appreciation to you. I will have two separate contests. Both of these contests will win you blog candy (yummy embellishments, and other such fun stuff). The first one is to guess my middle name. You can post your guess as a comment to this post and then I will do a drawing of every...

It's HERE!!!!!!! Tutorial for Pinecone Balls

UPDATED: For all of you interested in winning a kit to make these balls -- go HERE by December 1st, 2007 to enter to win!!!!! HAPPY BLACK FRIDAY -- So you missed the greatest deal ever because you were too far back in line -- never fear, I am here to help your day get better!!! Okay, due to the overwhelming demand for directions, I decided to do this a little earlier than I planned because SERIOUSLY you guys are all overloading my email box. I really hope you "get" them and that at the end of this tutorial you all will be happily playing with your pretty christmas ball. Bear with me, this will be my first time ever doing this . . . INGREDIENTS: 1 sheet of 12x12 paper (or a couple if you like) 1 three inch foam ball (white foam kind) 1 package of pins (I use Applique pins - 19mm - you can get these at walmart) 1 length of ribbon (I prefer wide SU organdy) 1 thimble 1 paper cutter STEP 1 Choose your paper(Mine is by K&I Memories). Small prints or loud paper work best ...