Skip to main content

Tempe Fantasy of Lights Boat Parade

I decided to do something Christmas-like every weekend and this weekend I heard about a boat parade in Tempe on the lake. I decided it could be fun. I used to go to the Santa Claus parade every year at home in Canada with my family, and thus far have not found a parade here in AZ to attend as a tradition with my family.

We got a little bit of a late start on going, so we missed the 10 Year Birthday Celebrations during the afternoon, but we made it in time for the parade. It was chilly but we had fun. Our favorites this year were the "UP" boat (with hot air balloons, a house and a whole bunch of balloons on top), pirate ship (they were totally in character and CUTE), the rudolph the red nosed boat (J thought it looked like a dragon head), and the cool rocker band on a boat playing their rendition of some christmas carols! (We heard them play jingle bells. It was RAD)!


My family watching along the parade route (love J's grumpy face)

We liked this entry complete with a fish and a christmas tree! Very fun! I was impressed with how festive everyone in the parade was with singing, and shouting Merry Christmas to the people along the parade route!


E couldn't resist looking at the boat again, even for two seconds to take the picture. J was tired (he fell asleep on the way there) and was sad he could not go on the boats.

The funniest kid memories were:
1) J really wanted to ride on the boats and asked where we had to go to get on them and was sad when we told him we just got to watch them.
2) E told us that this was not how to celebrate Hanukkah (she had seen earlier on the calendar it said it started) -- she was quite upset that everyone was saying "Merry Christmas" and not "Happy Hanukkah." Too funny!

Afterwards we stopped at Dunkin Donuts for hot chocolate (for everyone) and a donut (for the kids). In hind site, I would make that stop before we went next year, to keep us warm while we were there. The cocoa was SUPER HOT for like 30 minutes before we could let the kids drink it. Oh well, I guess you live and learn right? All in all, a fun night with my family!

My favorite pictures from the night are the three I took when I got home . . . my little tuckered out babies:

Comments

Nisa said…
That is so cool! I've never heard of a boat parade before. What a neat experience and great pictures too. :)
Sweet! Love the pictures of your sweet babes! Can't believe that the baby looks like a big boy now.......if I don't get by again before Christmas, wishing you and your family a joyous holiday

Love and Hugs

Vicki

Popular posts from this blog

My Decade Later Comeback and Playing Catch Up

Hello friends, It's been awhile and I kind of dropped off the face of the planet since moving to Oregon. I got busy with growing four babies into teens, and attempting to hold together a marriage with a partner who was working out of town for the most part. It was a lot! Truth be told, I have been spending most of my time over on Instagram which allows for more quick picture and caption posts (@the.amanda.sewell), but I really, genuinely miss having a journal of our adventures, so I'm back.  Some changes, my ex-partner moved out in October of 2023 (after 23 years of marriage, who would have thought?) and I am on a new, single mom adventure with the fabulous four. Luckily, they are adjusting to the changes well as we navigate this challenging time as a family team. Things are still in flux and hopefully at the end of all of this, the dust will settle and we will end up landing on our feet. Because of this change, I needed to go back to work and after not working for the past lo...

ALMOST TO 50K

EDITED TO ADD: I go by my first name, not my middle. My first name is Amanda. *smiles* Also, I am going to keep this post bumped up to the top so people can find it, but I will be posting more, so please take a moment to scroll down to find the latest stuff -- this will stay up until 50K is reached. *************************** I am so amazed that so many people have been interested in little old stamping me. Okay, well, not me actually, probably mostly my work, but either way, I'm SUPER FLATTERED! I appreciate all the comments you leave me. They really do validate me and make me feel like I should keep on going with this blog. You all ROCK! So, I have decided to do a small giveaway to show my appreciation to you. I will have two separate contests. Both of these contests will win you blog candy (yummy embellishments, and other such fun stuff). The first one is to guess my middle name. You can post your guess as a comment to this post and then I will do a drawing of every...

It's HERE!!!!!!! Tutorial for Pinecone Balls

UPDATED: For all of you interested in winning a kit to make these balls -- go HERE by December 1st, 2007 to enter to win!!!!! HAPPY BLACK FRIDAY -- So you missed the greatest deal ever because you were too far back in line -- never fear, I am here to help your day get better!!! Okay, due to the overwhelming demand for directions, I decided to do this a little earlier than I planned because SERIOUSLY you guys are all overloading my email box. I really hope you "get" them and that at the end of this tutorial you all will be happily playing with your pretty christmas ball. Bear with me, this will be my first time ever doing this . . . INGREDIENTS: 1 sheet of 12x12 paper (or a couple if you like) 1 three inch foam ball (white foam kind) 1 package of pins (I use Applique pins - 19mm - you can get these at walmart) 1 length of ribbon (I prefer wide SU organdy) 1 thimble 1 paper cutter STEP 1 Choose your paper(Mine is by K&I Memories). Small prints or loud paper work best ...